UNK Artalumni: recognitions

Spring 2010

Bridget Buddenberg (VCD S2001), Principal Designer at Fresh Picked Design, won the AMCP MarCom Gold Award, IABC Silver Inkwell Award of Excellence, and IAVA W3 Silver Awards in 2008 for a CorpComm promotion. Her team won a 2008 Marketing Sherpa Award for Best Email Opt-in Campaign - Gold Consumer, for a Circuit City Marketing Email Campaign.

Share your name and graduation year, along with any employer or personal URL.

Spring 2010

Christopher Cox Christopher Cox (VCD F2000), has just started his own studio, Changethethought, after Art Directing at Cactus Design Agency in Denver. The award winning designer was recently featured in The Denver Egotist a regional design news site. His blog, Changethethought.com, attracts millions of readers a year, and was recognized by HOW Magazine as a top site for designers in December 2010.

Spring 2009

Greg and Lisa Omaha couple provide VCD scholarship - January 23, 2009
Greg ’96 and Lisa (Schwartzkopf) ’95 Daake have provided a $10,000 gift to the NU Foundation for Visual Communication and Design scholarships to assist students at the University of Nebraska at Kearney. The couple are owners and founders of the Daake creative design firm Daake located in Omaha.

Summer 2008

Ryan Quincy is Director of Animation for Comedy Central's SOUTH PARK. Quincy recently won an Emmy Award for his work for that TV series and was honored by friends at the Nebraska Coast Connection. The Holdrege native worked on animated shorts for MAD TV in Hollywood, before joining Trey Parker and Matt Stone at SOUTH PARK.

Spring 2008

Deonne Hinz (BAEd S2007) has been awarded a number of exhibition Best of Show and First Place prizes for her pastel works. The shows were in Nebraska and surrounding states. Deonne is student teaching this semester.

Donovan Beery (VCD F1997) and Nate Voss (VCD 2001) co-founded design industry website 36 Point in 2008.

Dawn Wallinger (VCD S2007) just completed an online game project for the Greater Omaha Chamber of Commerce. iAppeal Media launched the site, Go Play the O, as part of Omaha's "O! Campaign."

At least nineteen former students raked in gold and silver at the 2008 Nebraska Addy Awards. See more details on our news page. (If we skipped over your achievement, please send a note).

Stacy Davis (VCD 2005), received a Bronze Admissions Marketing Award for NAU worldwide logo design.

Gabe Re (VCD F2006), has a "Santa Fe Ski Team" logo featured in the Rockport book Logo Lounge 4. The logo was created when Gabe was an intern at Cisneros Design.

Steven Hughes (VCD 2001), owner of elementalsSTUDIOS, won a bronze in Professional Website Design category at AIGA in 2007.

Winter 2007

Janelle Reed (VCD 2006), of Scorr Marketing, won a silver Davey Award for her work as lead designer for the She's Smitten web site. Davey Awards recognize creative excellence in small firms worldwide.

Jesse Jacobs (BFA 2007), announced his new business site at Impulse Pottery. His ceramic creations can be viewed at Omaha Clay Works, In Omaha’s historic Old Market—1114 Jones Street, Studio C.

Joel Kreutzer (VCD 2004), has been featured in the book Fingerprints: The Art of Using Handmade Elements in Graphic Design published in 2006, from How Books of Cincinnati, Ohio. Four of Joel's full color posters fill two spreads in the book. Editors are Chen Design Associates of San Francisco. The book is available at Amazon or from FW Bookstore.

Works of several UNK Visual Communication and Design Alumni were featured in the 2007 issue of Print magazine's Regional Design Annual. The selections include a "self-promotional" mailer (pg. 193), Steve Valish (2006) of DAAKE Design, a fall catalog for Pop Ink (pg. 148), Sheraton Green (2001) of Charles S. Anderson Design, note cards for Pop Ink (pg. 160), Sheraton Green and Jovaney Hollingsworth (2001) of Charles S. Anderson Design, gift tags for the Omaha Community Foundation (pg. 195), Dave Markes (2000) of Bailey Lauerman, symbol for the International Quilt Study Center (pg. 185), Ron Sack (1988) of Bailey Lauerman, identity system for Bootlegger liquor company (pg. 194), Ron Sack (1988) and James Strange (1987) of Bailey Lauerman.

(Please send a note with additional news or any corrections).